Broken Arrow, OK, Signs the First Disaster Recovery Agreement with OMSC and IBTS

By October 24, 2018

October 24, 2018 – Ashburn, VA:

A new OMSC member benefit enables municipalities to engage with IBTS for pre-event contracts for disaster mitigation and recovery services.

The Institute for Building Technology and Safety (IBTS), a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, is pleased to announce that Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, has become the first city to sign a pre-event contract for disaster recovery services after the Oklahoma Municipal Services Corporation (OMSC), the business arm of the Oklahoma Municipal League (OML), began offering this new benefit to OML members in August.

“This agreement will be a vital asset if and when an unfortunate event befalls the City of Broken Arrow,” said Craig Thurmond, Broken Arrow Mayor. “Emergency Management is all about preparing for a disaster and reacting to it, and our agreement with the Institute for Building Technology and Safety will help us be ready on all fronts when the unforeseeable occurs.”

OMSC and IBTS entered into a cooperative purchase agreement, allowing OMSC members to access pre-event contracts for recovery services ahead of a disaster. Under the agreement, members have access to subrecipient agreements, disaster planning and plan activation, initial disaster response, post-disaster services, recovery administration, grant closeout, resilience planning, and other associated shared services. Establishing a relationship with a firm that has already been vetted can accelerate time to recovery.

“The ability to be prepared in case of a natural disaster is vital, and this Master Agreement for Disaster Services with IBTS allows our cities and towns to do just that” says Mike Fina, Executive Director of OML.  “We think pre-event contracts of this nature are a must-have, especially for smaller communities who may be resource constrained.”

The recently signed agreement is expected to be the first of many.

“It’s great to see communities like Broken Arrow getting ahead of the odds and putting the contract piece of the puzzle in place before the chaos and confusion of a disaster hits. They know we will be there if and when they need us,” says Blake Ratcliff, Director of Economic Development and Disaster Recovery at IBTS. “A little proactivity can go a long way when it comes to total impact and speed of recovery.”


Press Contact:

Karen Johnson
Market Engagement Program Director 


About Broken Arrow, OK:

Located in northeast Oklahoma, Broken Arrow is the fourth largest city in the state, with an estimated population of 107,000 people spread out over 55 square miles. Residents in Broken Arrow enjoy a high quality of life, characterized by low crime, high performing schools, affordable housing and easy access to many parks and recreational facilities. Originally platted as a township in 1903, the legislative and policy making body consists of a five member City Council, elected by wards with staggered terms for a period of four years. The Mayor is elected within the Council membership. The City Manager is responsible for the day-to-day operations of City government.



Founded in 1913, the OML serves as the individual and collective voice of local government officials in interactions at both the state and national levels. The OML provides services and programs to its members to assist them in better serving their citizens and communities and acts as a clearinghouse to offer services which individual cities and towns do not have the time, money, or expertise to provide alone. As the business arm of the League, OMSC continues to foster strategic partnerships for the benefit of the OML members.  OMSC has several agreements with select partners to bring services to the members of OML.


About IBTS:

IBTS is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization committed to helping communities through quality services that reduce risk, enhance public safety, and improve quality of life.  IBTS is headquartered in Ashburn, Virginia with branch offices across the country.  IBTS’s work is guided by a Board of Directors made up of government officials appointed by five of the most highly respected, grassroots, state and local governmental associations, including the Council of State Governments (CSG), International City/County Management Association (ICMA), National Association of Counties (NACo), National Governors Association Center for Best Practices (NGA Center), and National League of Cities (NLC).