IBTS Board Chairman Craig Thurmond Wins Mayor of the Year Award

By October 5, 2016

October 05, 2016 – Ashburn, VA:

IBTS congratulates Board of Directors Chairman Craig Thurmond on being named 2016 Mayor of the Year

The Institute for Building Technology and Safety (IBTS) is pleased to announce that the Chairman of its Board of Directors, Mayor of Broken Arrow, OK, Craig Thurmond, was recently named 2016 Mayor of the Year by the Mayors’ Council of Oklahoma (MCO).

“We are very fortunate to have such an accomplished individual serving on our Board,” stated Ashok Goswami, IBTS CEO. “At IBTS, we value the guidance provided by Craig Thurmond and believe that there is no one more deserving of this award.”

MCO recognized Mayor Thurmond with this prestigious award for his many accomplishments, including:

  • Breaking ground on Broken Arrow’s first conference center, scheduled to open in late 2017, which supports the vision for long-term economic growth for the community.
  • Playing an integral role in the formation of Cities United, a working group of metropolitan Tulsa mayors and city managers, who worked to renew the Tulsa County Vision 2025 sales tax. With the Vision 2025 renewal, the City of Broken Arrow will hire 40 new police officers and firefighters over the next five years, and commit approximately $3.3 million annually to street rehabilitation in the community.
  • Leading continued development of the Rose District, Broken Arrow’s downtown shopping and entertainment district, which has grown more in the past five years than over the past 50.

Mayor Thurmond serves on 18 local and national boards, councils, and committees, including the National League of Cities, the organization he represents on the IBTS Board.

Press Contact:

Karen Johnson
Market Engagement Program Director

About IBTS:

IBTS is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization committed to helping communities through quality services that reduce risk, enhance public safety, and improve quality of life.  IBTS is headquartered in Ashburn, Virginia with branch offices across the country.  IBTS’s work is guided by a Board of Directors made up of government officials appointed by five of the most highly respected, grassroots, state and local governmental associations, including the Council of State Governments (CSG), International City/County Management Association (ICMA), National Association of Counties (NACo), National Governors Association Center for Best Practices (NGA Center), and National League of Cities (NLC).